Frequently Asked Questions

How do you decide which frameworks to include?

While there are a multitude of frameworks available, for the purposes of these tools, we have narrowed down to a set of frameworks using the following criteria:

  1. Representative of a wide range of disciplines
  2. Widely adopted
  3. Include descriptive skills, traits, competencies, strengths, mindsets and/or attributes that are defined and can be coded

Are you adding new frameworks?

We are continuing to add frameworks to the site as we continually look for ways to improve our tools and profiles.

Looking for particular frameworks? Let us know.

Are you adding more visual tools?

There are many ways to visually represent the data that underlies our tools, and we are continually looking to improve upon our tools or add additional ways to view the data.

What is included in each SEL Domain?

Our work has identified six SEL domains. The Cognitive domain includes the basic cognitive skills required to direct behavior toward the attainment of a goal. Skills in this domain are involved in tasks that require you to concentrate and focus, remember instructions, prioritize tasks, control impulses, set and achieve goals, use information to make decisions, and more.

Specific skills in this area include: Attention Control, Working Memory & Planning, Inhibitory Control, Cognitive Flexibility, and Critical Thinking.

The Emotion domain includes skills that help you recognize, express, and control your emotions as well as understand and empathize with others. Skills in this domain are important not only for managing your own feelings and behavior, but also for interacting with and responding to others in prosocial ways.

Specific skills in this area include: Emotion Knowledge & Expression, Emotion & Behavior Regulation, and Empathy & Perspective-taking

The Social domain includes skills thathelp you accurately interpret other people’s behavior, effectively navigate social situations, and interact positively with others. Skills in this domain are required to work collaboratively, solve social problems, build positive relationships, and coexist peacefully with others.

Specific skills in this area include: Understanding Social Cues, Conflict Resolution & Social Problem-solving, and Prosocial & Cooperative Behavior

Values includes the skills, character traits/virtues, and habits that support you to be a prosocial and productive member of a particular community. It encompasses understanding, caring about, and acting upon core ethical values; the desire to perform to one’s highest potential; and the habits required to live and work together with others as a friend, family member, and citizen.

Specific values in this area include: Ethical Values, Performance Values, Intellectual Values, and Civic Values

Your perspective is how you view and approach the world. It impacts how you see yourself, others, and your own circumstances and influences how you interpret and approach challenges in your daily life. A positive perspective can help you protect against and manage negative feelings to successfully accomplish tasks and get along with others.

Specific perspectives in this area include: Optimism, Gratitude, Openness, and Enthusiasm/Zest

Identity encompasses how you understand and perceive yourself and your abilities. It includes your knowledge and beliefs about yourself, including your ability to learn and grow. When you feel good about yourself; sure of your place in the world; and confident in your ability to learn, grow, and overcome obstacles, it becomes easier to cope with challenges and build positive relationships. Specific competencies in this area include: Self-knowledge, Purpose, Self-efficacy & Growth Mindset, and Self-esteem

How did you identify which domains are targeted by each term?

Terms described within each framework were coded by a team of trained research assistants using a common set of benchmarks. Codes are divided into six domains, each of which contains a set of sub-domains that represent a particular skill in that domain. Each of these sub-domains is further divided into benchmark codes that consist of an observable behavior or state that indicate a child is using that particular skill. Terms received a benchmark code if a coder determined that the definition or description of the construct provided within the framework matched the skills or behaviors described in the associated benchmark.